Skip to content

:16 Card Types and Progress

May 9, 2008

16 ticking downThough I have been quite about :16 that does not mean I have not been working on the game. Development is moving along very well, and if all goes well, a working playtest prototype will be available for download in a week or so.

Why not sooner?

Because I still have some final thinking to do when it comes to card layout and the like. I have a very rough rulesheet done, but it is not ready for public viewing. Still, the rules are done, and I know how the game plays. I know what the end game is. More importantly I know how you win the game (i.e. how a player wins at :16).

It is the cards that are taking some time. Well, not the cards, but the layout of the cards.

Card layout is extremely important for a card game, regardless if it is a CCG or a single deck game. Good card layout should be seamless. Everything you need to know about how a card works, should be on the card. The layout should be clear, and it should not require a great deal of effort to decipher what a card does.

As much as I love GLOOM (and I freaking love this game) the game suffers due to the card layout. Granted the trick to the game is great, but the clear cards tend to wear out and scuff the printing. If you have multiple cards stacked, this tends to make quick scanning of the needed information difficult.

A good example of a game that has some truly great card design is BONE WARS by Zygote Games. Though the game can be a little complicated when it comes to assembling the various dinosaur skeletons, the card design and layout is brilliant. Each card makes the game easy to play and all you need to know is there on the cards.

Card design is important and this is where my hold up has been. :16 is not a complicated card game. However, I want to make sure that the cards are clear and tell you everything you need to know.

Now, I hear your question: “Richard, are you designing the actual cards?”

No. Not literally.

The goal behind :16 is to design a card game that we can publish. Why else would I be working on this, and planning to do a open public beta playtest of the game, if I was not hoping to publish this?

As I did with my other card games, I need to create a working prototype. In order to do this, I have to think about the card design.

So, what are the cards?

In a previous post I talked about the four card types (Life Cards, Event Cards, Rumor Cards and Paparzzi Cards). As of tonight all 110 cards that make up :16 are written.

I know what they are. I know their effects. More importantly they are balanced.

Here is the breakdown:

  • Celebrity Cards (4 Cards Total)
  • Life Path Cards (36 Cards Total)
  • Event Cards (26 Total)
  • Paparazzi Cards (16 Total)
  • Rumor Cards (28 Total)
  • So there you go, the latest.

    As for Ninja work is humming. Rough draft is being written. This game is coming together. However, that is for another post.

    One Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. UpComingCamera.Info » Blog Archive » :16 Card Types and Progress

    Comments are closed.

