Skip to content

[Thousand Suns] Pilot’s Guide to the Core Worlds — Canceled

November 7, 2008

I’d been meaning to make a post about this, but I’ve been (as usual) busy and distracted, so now’s as good a time as any 🙂

The short version is that Pilot’s Guide to the Core Worlds has been canceled. Now, here’s the long version: I originally conceived of the Pilot’s Guide series as a way for me to detail the various regions of the Thousand Suns for use in play, as well as to give rules and advice on how to take fullest advantage to the sub-genres of Imperial SF they exemplified. So, the Core Worlds book would be about the decadent, high-tech center of galactic civilization and would focus on things like espionage, illicit activities, politics, celebrity, and so on.

As I worked on it, though, I came to realize that my approach was wrongheaded from the first and rather contrary to the vision I’d had for both the meta-setting and the game as a toolkit. After many, many attempts to try and rework the material I’d written into something I liked and that I felt worked with the original vision of the game and the meta-setting, I gave up — at least for the time being.

Consequently, all the work I did in the Pilot’s Guide to the Core Worlds will be posted to the Encyclopedia Galactica in snippets over the next few weeks and months. I also intended to rework parts of it for inclusion in other upcoming projects, including the Transmissions from the Foundation book next summer (the title will probably change). My hope is that I’ll again find the lost thread of inspiration I had when I originally conceived the product and come up with a new approach that’ll allow me to treat the topic without betraying the vision of Thousand Suns I had when I launched the game line.

Speaking of the game line, there are new Thousand Suns products on the horizon. The first of these is the Transmissions from Piper, scheduled for next March. It’s a collection of four short stories by H. Beam Piper, a seminal influence on TS, along with rules and advice on how to use those ideas and concepts from those stories in your adventures and campaigns. It’s a very exciting book and one that I’m looking forward to seeing published. It’s very much in keeping with the original vision of the game as a toolkit for creating your own Imperial SF setting. In many ways, I think it’s a far better first supplement for the game than would have been Pilot’s Guide. (Fighting Ships of the Thousand Suns is still planned for next year, though; that hasn’t changed)

I imagine there may be question, so feel free to post them here. I’ll be happy to answer them if I can.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

