Skip to content

[Colonial Gothic] The Philadelphia Affair

November 24, 2008

For two years I have been stuck on a writing project. Said project is for Colonial Gothic, and is an adventure. This adventure has gone through at least twelve freaking drafts.

The reason?

Who knows.

For some reason this adventure has been stuck, and no matter how much (or how little) I worked on it, I could not get past it. I think part of the reason might lie in the fact that I broke my usual writing form.

Writing form?

Yes.

A little know secret is that no matter what the project is, the first draft I write in longhand.

Yes. Longhand.

From the original Colonial Gothic Rulebook, to the Legend of Sleepy Hollow, every draft is always written in longhand. The reason is that it helps me focus on the mater at hand, and allows me to get all the ideas on to paper first. I pretty much sit at my desk, yellow legal pad in front of me, outline of said project in one of my ubiquitous moleskins, and I write.

I write until I am done. I work off my outline, and I write. As I write, do not edit. I let the work shape itself. If there are errors, I do not worry about them. The goal of this first draft is to empty the mind of everything. Once done, I then type up this draft, and do the first edit. Once done, I print it out, and sit on it for about two weeks. When I follow this method the writing is easier. When I don’t. Well. Forget.

That is the problem I faced with this adventure. I tried to mix things up, and and not follow my typical writing method. No mater how hard I tried, I could not get it down, and I hit mental roadblock after mental roadblock. Finally last weekend I had it. I chucked everything. Printed out my outline, grabbed a fresh moleskin, and wrote.

Boom.

Rough draft done.

I still have a lot of work to do. Yet, for the first time in years, the log jam is free.

So what is the adventure about?

It deals with a cult, a business deal gone bad, someone stealing money, and the missing son of a connected member of the Continental Congress.

The title?

The Philadelphia Affair.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

