Skip to content

Rogue Games sneaks onto Kindle

June 3, 2009
tags:

We have been busy.

Working on new games (Shadow, Sword & Spell), getting a revised book to press (Colonial Gothic Revised), getting a new supplement to layout (Thousand Suns), updating a online resource (New World Almanack), getting books not only up on Scribd (Rogue Games Scribd) but getting up for sale (The Rogue’s eBook Store). Just looking at makes me tired, and that is not even the whole list.

Starting today we add another thing to the list: Kindle.

You read that right. Starting today you are able to purchase some of our books for the Kindle. Right now you can buy:

The list is small, but it will grow by the end of the month. The goal is to have these editions ready on the same day as the book releases. Once it goes up for sale, you will be able to buy any new title from any of the various places our books are for sale. It might not be instant, but it will be there.

Anyway, both James and I are excited as hell about this, as well as the other cool things in the works. Like? Our games will be available on the Espresso Book Machine via On Demand Books, which is due in large part of who we use for our printer.

There are more surprises in store. 2009 is going to be a very fun year for us, as well as for you. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 4:49 pm

    DUDE! I hate you! I **cannot** afford a Kindle right now!!!! I have resisted for over a year and a half, and now you do THIS to me?!?!?

    Seriously, that is fantastic news. You are The Edge, Mr Iorio.

    Hey, do you have one, and have you see one of your books on it? Can you take a picture? I’m curious how well you’re able to maintain layout, graphics, tables and so on on the Kindle.

    Damn you and your forward thinking.

  2. June 3, 2009 5:59 pm

    I have an iPhone and use the Kindle app on that. My niece has a Touch, and the app works on that as well. The iPhone also has Stanza which supports the open ebook standard, that one is coming as well. I just need to work out the bugs.

    Layout was easy, since we do not have two column books, and to be honest it is a nice substitute. I am looking at the Kindle versions as a playground, by that I take serious, but I want to test things. I am not sure what the crossover is with gamers and the Kindle, so I will be adapting as we go.

    We have some other cool things in the work, but nothing ready to go live with. Everything we do is geared to one thing — getting gamers the content they need.

Leave a Reply

